3/17/2011

Prince William and Kate Middleton: The big day: Schedule of events




I know I am going to one of the millions that's going to watch the Royal Wedding on April 29th!!!!

My parents told me that they watched Charles and Diana's in July 29th 1981 while rocking me to sleep =) I was still a new born at that time.


We all know that Prince William and Kate Middleton will walk down the aisle on April 29, but what about the schedule of events throughout the day? Here's how the timing of the biggest wedding of the year will break down:

9:00 a.m. (1:00 a.m. PT/4:00 a.m. ET) - According to CNN, the wedding guests (all 1,900 of them) are scheduled to arrive between 9:00 - 10:00 a.m. (London time) at Westminster Abbey. Let's hope the Queen doesn't sleep through her alarm.


10:50 a.m. (2:50 a.m. PT/5:50 a.m. ET) - Kate and her father Mike Middleton will depart Buckingham Palace via car, a somewhat controversial decision as it is the first time since 1963 that a royal bride has not arrived at the church by horse-drawn carriage. Their car will travel along The Mall, passing by Clarence House, Whitehall, and Parliament Square.

11.00 a.m. (3:00 a.m. PT/6:00 a.m. ET) - The service begins at 11:00 a.m. sharp, so turn off your cell phones and throw some butter on your popcorn. While the Dean of Westminster will conduct the church service, William and Kate will actually be married by Rowan Douglas Williams, the Archbishop of Canterbury.

12:00 p.m. (4:00 a.m. PT/7:00 a.m. ET) - Following the ceremony, Prince William and Princess Catherine, now husband and wife, will return to Buckingham Palace in a procession of horse-drawn coaches, passing by the thousands of well-wishers who will be lining the streets.

12:30 p.m. (4:30 a.m. PT/7:30 a.m. ET) - Once back at the Palace, the newlyweds will be met by the Queen and enjoy a swanky champagne reception. The couple will also take a moment to appear on the Buckingham Palace balcony where they will wave, and perhaps even kiss, for the crowds and cameras.

7:00 p.m. (11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET) - Following that epic soiree, the Prince of Wales (William's father, Charles) will host a private dinner and dance, also at Buckingham Palace. This event will be for just the bride and groom's closest friends and family. If ever there was an opportunity for the Queen to bust out the Electric Slide, this will be it.



2 comments:

Looking forward to hear from you =)